Welcome to the Tiger Owners Club

Home - Forum - Links - Downloads - Privacy Policy

Author   Comment  
Crouching_Tiger1

Account Disabled
Reply with quote  #1 
Hi all, just getting round to fitting my windscreen after years of living with a fly screen. Offered up glass to Grove in dash top. The glass touches at two ends with a massive gap in the middle. Have I got the wrong glass or do I need to cut holes in Body?
Can't find any mention of this in manual.
IanR6

Registered Users
Reply with quote  #2 
I'm no expert, but I had exactly the same problem with my screen (when I had one fitted, more about that later). I was told at the time that they are all like that unless you have one specifically made to fit your car.

I found that to make mine fit, I first ran a bead of screen sealant in the groove on the bodywork. I allowed this to begin curing for a little while whilst I got on with fitting the side supports to the frame and fitted the glass in the assembled frame, again with a thin bead of sealant. I used duct tape, from the glass, over the frame and back to the other side of the glass to keep it in place as I lifted the screen and frame into position on the bodywork.

The screen settled into the sealant in the groove as I fitted the side supports, filling all the small gaps. The little excess sealant that was forced out was easily trimmed back.

When all was dry I ran a further bead of sealant along the edge of the screen and groove which I smoothed and finished with the corner of an old credit card, to give a very neat finish.

Now, have you been in a tiger with a screen?  I found that the screen made whole driving experience much less comfortable. Not only does the screen act like a huge air dam it also produces turbulent air behind the screen, enough in my case to shake my head so much that vision became effected at speed.